New Missouri Marijuana Laws! Effective December 8, 2022
Over 200,000 Missouri residents have an active medical marijuana card as of November 2022 and patient numbers continue to climb. Missouri’s laws have changed significantly in recent years, and lawmakers made recent updates that are already in effect as of the 8th of December.
This new law makes changes to purchase limits, renewal requirements, digital card features, and more. Missouri continues to make progress and take steps to ensure deserving patients have access to natural, safe relief!
In this blog, we will outline the changes to Missouri’s marijuana laws in detail.
Digital Card Features
Medical marijuana cards are issued digitally in the State of Missouri, and new laws change the features on patient cards. A photo will now be available on all digital medical marijuana cards.
Any patient can access this new feature by logging into their state accounts and simply downloading a new card. Digital cards without pictures will still be valid for dispensary use, if you would like to opt out of this new feature.
The only way for patients to change the photo on their card currently is for them to wait for renewal and submit the new photo with their application. But the state announced that they are now working on a process for patients to submit a new picture online.
Instructions on how to upload a new picture for your medical marijuana card are coming soon! We will keep you updated.
Prior to new laws, Missouri residents had to renew their medical cards each year. Now, medical marijuana patients can wait 3 years before renewing their cards! This is a huge win for Missouri patients.
Medical cards being valid for 3 years means patients will save a considerable amount of money. You will still have to renew your card by the expiration date listed on it, but after that it will be valid for 3 years.
Patients with their medical marijuana card will now be able to purchase up to 6 ounces of marijuana in a 30 day period.
Any patient that requires purchase of more than 6 ounces in a 30 day period will need to provide a physician certification form which must be filled out and submitted by a doctor or nurse. The form will state that their patient needs more than 6 ounces per month.
According to the new law, nurse practitioners will now be able to recommend medical marijuana to patients. The nurse must be licensed and in good standing with the state.
Get Your Medical Marijuana Card Today
It is now easier than ever to get your medical marijuana card in the State of Missouri. Although recreational marijuana was recently legalized, it will take some time for the program to become operational.
There are also numerous benefits to having your medical card in a recreational state, including lower costs and taxes and higher purchase and possession limits. For more information, click here.
If you don’t already have your medical marijuana card, we can help! Our doctors are standing by to take you through a quick and easy evaluation to see if you qualify. During your evaluation, they will be happy to answer all your questions about how cannabis may be able to help with your anxiety or any other medical conditions.
Schedule an appointment with a marijuana professional online by giving us a call at
(877) 303-3117 to talk to a patient support representative.
Doctors Who Care.
Relief You Can Trust.
At Missouri Marijuana Card, our mission is to help everyone achieve wellness safely and conveniently through increased access to medical marijuana. Our focus on education, inclusion, and acceptance will reduce the stigma for our patients by providing equal access to timely information and compassionate care.
Call us at (877) 303-3117, or simply book a medical marijuana evaluation to start getting the relief you can trust today!
Check out Missouri Marijuana Card’s Blog to keep up to date on the latest medical marijuana news, tips, and information. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to join the medical marijuana conversation in Missouri!